John Scalzi Author Talk - Kaiju Preservation Society - and Pacific Rim Screening

Scalzi_Mar_22_Web_Banners_(7).png

Showings

Main Cinema Sat, Mar 19 7:00 PM

Description

Savoy Bookshop & Café presents an author panel at The United Theatre with John Scalzi for the new book, Kaiju Preservation Society.

Author talk will be at 7 PM followed by a viewing of the kaiju film, Pacific Rim at 9:00 PM!

Tickets are $12 for the talk and screening or $37 for the talk, screening, and a hardcover copy of the book. 

About Kaiju Preservation Society

SOMETHING BIG IS COMING…New York Times bestselling author John Scalzi returns with a new standalone Sci-Fi adventure of epic proportion, THE KAIJU PRESERVATION SOCIETY (Tor Books; Hardcover; March 15, 2022). Fans of Godzilla, Jurassic Park, and any creature tale will not want to miss Scalzi’s take on the monsters of unusual size.When COVID-19 sweeps through New York City, Jamie Gray is stuck as a dead-end driver for food delivery apps. That is, until Jamie makes a delivery to an old acquaintance, Tom, who works at what he calls “an animal rights organization.” Tom’s team needs a last-minute grunt to handle things on their next field visit. Jamie, eager to do anything, immediately signs on.What Tom doesn't tell Jamie is that the animals his team cares for are not here on Earth. Not our Earth, at least. In an alternate dimension, massive Kaiju roam a warm and human-free world. They're the universe's largest and most dangerous panda… and they're in trouble. It's not just the Kaiju Preservation Society who have found their way to the alternate world. Others have, too. And their carelessness could cause millions back on our Earth to die.With his trademark imagination and wit, John Scalzi turns a pandemic story into not only an addictive escapist adventure, but an examination of what it means to survive against all odds. THE KAIJU PRESERVATION SOCIETY is full of relatable and strong characters, fascinating gigantic creatures, and a world so fully realized that readers will be wondering if there really are Kaiju hiding in an alternate dimension under Iceland.

About John Scalzi

JOHN SCALZI is one of the most popular SF authors to emerge in the last decade. His debut, Old Man's War, won him the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His New York Times bestsellers include The Last Colony, Fuzzy Nation, Redshirts (which won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novel), and 2020's The Last Emperox. Material from his blog, Whatever, has earned him two other Hugo Awards. Scalzi also serves as critic-at-large for the Los Angeles Times. He lives in Ohio with his wife and daughter. For more information, visit www.whatever.scalzi.com or follow him on twitter, @scalzi.

 

All tickets are general admission and non-refundable, non-transferable

*****Effective immediately and until further notice: All patrons regardless of vaccination status must wear masks over their nose and mouth at all times while inside the venue (unless actively eating or drinking). Details may be revisited or revised based on CDC guidance and the evolving circumstances of the pandemic. All patrons attending concerts and liver performances at The United (not including film screenings) must either show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 (at least 14 days have passed since the final dose), or proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken in the prior 72-hours, or proof of a negative COVID-19 antigen test taken in the prior 6-hours.